01-02 Aries/Cancer/Libra/Capricorn cross

  • Aries: A Comedian Entertaining A Group.
  • Cancer: A Man Suspended Over A Vast Level Place.
  • Libra: The Light Of The Sixth Race Transmuted To The Seventh.

  • Capricorn: Three Stained-Glass Windows, One Damaged By


Humour (Aries) is one way to cope with adversity, to heal others experiencing the same, and to create a sense of camaraderie.  Once we heal from trauma, humour is the default mechanism for viewing life and our constant fumbling around in it.


Cancer's symbol suggests the ‘bigger picture’ and having a larger perspective.  With this comes wisdom, and the ability to foresee how events are likely to play out, based on extensive knowledge of the past.  The level-ness in the symbol implies neutrality, that all things are equal.  This symbol also recalls The Hanged Man in Tarot, where in Norse mythology Odin hung from a tree, sacrificing himself for his soul’s progress and wisdom.  In The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams, a man saw infinity for his punishment and went mad.  While Aries pokes fun, Cancer's symbol humbles by contrasting the small human with the vast expanse.


Libra’s 'race' is a metaphor for a generation and its transmuting light is a metaphor for evolution.   The experiences of the previous generation are creatively changed for the consciousness of the next generation.  Wouldn't it be wonderful to have the wisdom from life's hard knocks without the depression?  An example of this might be passing on to your children the resourcefulness that comes from a low-income background, without the poverty-consciousness.  My experience of this symbol is that having seen toxicity and negativity transfer from generation to generation with my in-laws and in my own family, I am ending the generational chain of pain and making sure I protect my own children from the stuff I don't want them to ‘inherit’.  I want my children to receive the best of their heritage without being weighed down with the garbage.  For example, independence runs through my family, however it has come at the price of grief, a lack of belonging and low self-worth (and acting the clown for others in an effort to be liked—Aries).  I choose to teach my children independence without the pain of how my family learned it.  I try to ‘lighten up’ (Aries and Libra). 


Stained-glass windows have almost exclusively belonged to significant religious buildings, and Capricorn’s symbol indicates some sort of sacrilege.  The current crisis of the Catholic church best demonstrates this symbol, where the abuse allegations bombard the church and destroy the façade.  Stained-glass windows let the light in, but more so does an empty window frame, bringing in fresh air.  This symbol is a response to hypocrisy, or a statement that an age-old institution needs to ‘freshen up’ (Libra). 


Libra’s symbol is the key to the cross.  In order to evolve as a species, we have to give up the structures we hold dear (such as religion—Capricorn, or ego—Cancer), and lighten up (Aries and Libra) by taking the wisdom from our generation’s experiences and transcending its pain (Libra and Cancer), taking a humble view of ourselves (Aries, Cancer, Capricorn).

Your browser does not support the HTML5 canvas tag.

If you can see the "wheel of fortune" above,

click to divine which sign you are at -

then use the astronavigator below

to comment about your experience on that page.


Find another cross!


Share this page: